September 23, 2010

Happy Autumnal Equinox!

Today marks the first day of autumn. In Europe, that is. In the United States, autumn started yesterday. Confused? This link explains how the autumnal equinox can fall (pun intended, of course) on two separate dates:

The solstices and equinoxes are not actually days, but rather they are instants of time. The equinoxes are the instants when the Sun appears directly over Earth's equator....For 2010 the moment of the autumnal equinox is September 23 at 03:09 UTC (coordinated universal time). Coordinated universal time is also called Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), the standard time in the Greenwich, England time zone. Because this year's autumnal equinox falls so early in the morning in UTC, it is on the previous night in locations a few time zones west of Greenwich. In the United States, the autumnal equinox will be at 11:09 PM EDT, 10:09 PM CDT, 9:09 PM MDT, and 8:09 PM PDT on September 22. The autumnal equinox, or the first day of fall in the northern hemisphere, will be September 22, in the United States and locations further west. The September 2010 equinox will however be on September 23 in Greenwich, England, Europe, and more easterly locations.

And did you check out that beautifully brilliant moon in last night's sky? The tiny bright star next to it is actually Jupiter. Jupiter and the moon will be bosom buddies for the next month or so, but after that they won't rendezvous in the night sky until the year 2022. Start your sky gazing now.

{Image via here}

6 comments:

ching said...

the equinox..i wish i could experience it.haha

Jaime @ La vie...J'aime said...

I did see the amazing harvest moon! Happy fall! :)

THE ALTERNATIVE WIFE said...

Oh yes I saw the harvest moon too! Happy Fall to you! :)

Denise | Chez Danisse said...

I've been loving the moon. I'll have to look for Jupiter. Thanks.

Vintage Vixen said...

Beautiful post! Lovely images. xxx

Romany said...

Wow that is rather confusing...
Thankfully, we've just started Spring over here in Australia. So we don't have to worry about any of this, hehe!
Romany
xx